Thrilling Finale: KE Under-16 Lyari Football League Concludes

Thrilling Finale: KE Under-16 Lyari Football League Concludes

Captain Turab Ali Team Winners of the Under-16 Lyari League

Karachi, April 26, 2015: K-Electric concluded Under-16 Lyari Football League that kicked off on April 17 of this month. The final leg of this tournament was played between Captain Turab and Ustaad Gulsher teams. After a thrilling encounter, Captain Turab Ali team emerged as the winner of Under-16 Lyari Football League with 3-0 lead. Man of the Final is Shakeel of Captain Turab Team. The league had been organized in collaboration with I Am Karachi and the Sindh Football Federation.

A closing ceremony was held at People’s Stadium Lyari in which Tayyab Tareen, CEO K-Electric and Usama Qureshi, Chief of Staff & Chief Marketing Officer K-Electric awarded a trophy as well as prize money of worth Rs.1 lac to the winning team whereas first and second runners-up received cash prizes worth Rs. 75, 000 and Rs. 50, 000 respectively.

Speaking on the occasion, Tayyab Tareen, CEO K-Electric commented, “I want to extend my heartiest felicitation to the winning team as well as all the participated teams who put up a good game throughout this tournament. Our objective in arranging this annual tournament is to motivate the youth of Lyari into taking up healthy activities and we have been very happy at the positive response to this Football League. Over the four years, our football enthusiasts have transformed this tournament into one of the most celebrated football tournaments of the city.”

Usama Qureshi, Chief of Staff & Chief Marketing Officer K-Electric added, “I am grateful to our event partners I Am Karachi and Sindh Football Federation for making this year’s event a success. K-Electric has always sought opportunities to engage youth in a healthy life style and KE believes in harnessing such talent at the grass root level.”

Giving details the Press Statement added that 11 underprivileged players of the Lyari Football league got an opportunity to represent Pakistan for the Under-14 and Under -16 South Asian Football Federation Championship in Iran and Nepal previously.

The oath ceremony was led by Pakistan Womens’ Football Coach, Ms. Raheela Zareen at the closing ceremony, in which 288 players of 16 teams pledged to refrain from participation in any negative behaviour including drugs and violence. They further promised to play a positive role in promoting healthy activities within the Lyari vicinity.

Following the presentation ceremony, fireworks were held to mark the end of this tournament.